If The Dress Fits by Carla de Guzman : A Review

If The Dress Fits by Carla de Guzman: A Review

41wrvabcabl

 

Martha Aguas kind of has it all–she’s an accountant who loves numbers, an accident-prone puppy that loves her, and the perfect wardrobe.

Yes, she wears a dress size 24, her bras don’t fit and she’s never had a boyfriend, but so what?

It becomes a big deal when her perfect cousin Regina announces her engagement to Enzo, the only boy she’s ever loved (he doesn’t know, so don’t tell him!) Suddenly Aguases from all corners of the globe are coming for the event, and the last thing Martha wants is to be asked why she still prefers her lattes with a waffle on the side.

Thank god for Max. Goofy, funny, dependable Max, who finds himself playing the fake boyfriend at the family festivities. But why does it feel like only one of them is pretending?

 

 

 

The author generously gave me a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

Where to begin? It’s actually hard to begin to review something so awesome but I’ll try.

We meet Martha, a very healthy lady who has a love affair with food. Those are her words by the way. She is a very happy woman who has a cute dog, adorable if not meddlesome family and a hot vet friend named Max.

Story begins when her childhood nemesis and her cousin Regina announces that she’s getting married. To Martha’s sort of ex. And also her client at the moment. Whom she has never really gotten over because first love and all. She knows she’s doomed especially when she learns that she’ll be in charge of Regina’s engagement party. But that changed when her family mistakenly learned that Max is her boyfriend. Suddenly Max takes the center stage in her life.

I can’t stress how much I love this book. I love the attitude it gave to a healthy positive outlook on weight. I love that it showed how we should embrace who we are and not how much we weigh. I love how it emphasized Martha’s love of her family and how her family loved her back. And Max. Oh, Max. How sweet are you! Max is perfect for Martha because he is her rock. He knew her inside and outside, all her quirks and her faults and still he loved her. He waited for her to sort her feelings out while making himself vulnerable in the process. My heart ached for him when Martha didn’t see right away how he loved her.

I also loved Martha’s family. Her colorful aunts and her seemingly perfect cousin. They are all very supportive of her while being a bit makulit. But we all have a family member or two like them. And that’s why I love them. I also loved all the food mentioned here. I could almost taste them. Half the time I was reading the book I was actually hungry. Haha. I wanted to eat what Martha was eating.

At the end of the book I was actually smiling from joy that these two happy and lovely characters got to be together because they deserved to be together. Martha being comfortable in her own skin is a good thing to stress throughout the book because most of the world would tell us otherwise. Which is crap. I also love that Max is perfect because he shows that he sees and appreciates the wonderful person that is Martha.

We all need a person to see us for what we are. All our mistakes and insecurities wouldn’t matter. This person would love us not because of how we look but because of who we are for real. And I’m glad that I saw that in this lovely story. My smile as I read the last page was pasted on my face for a long time after.

 

Buy link: Amazon

https://www.amazon.com/If-Dress-Fits-Carla-Guzman-ebook/dp/B01LZCQSYG/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1477062679&sr=1-1&keywords=Carla+de+Guzman+If+the+dress+fits

 

 

Leave a Reply

